FIRED UP!!!

30 Jun

Remember when I told you how I couldn’t believe that Andrew’s graduation party was so normal and went so smoothly that it almost didn’t feel like my real life? (If not, refresh your memory here…)

Well. I don’t know if God is reading my blog or my life is suddenly shifting back to its normal (and use normal loosely) state of weirdness. Briefly, Becky’s Facebook status encompasses tonight:

Becky Z: it really amazes me the kind of stuff that happens when me and Danielle Camille are together lol should probably be used to it by now 


Oh how true that statement is. So you know how we are coaching a high school softball team? The girls are playing in a league that meets on Monday and Wednesday nights at a pair of fields in the inner city. Remember, we county folk are not accustomed to the ways of life on the inside of the city limits. Anyway, the league has a mish mosh of teams playing in its brackets: high school, college, college grads, and travel teams. Tonight we were playing the 9PM game. Not a big deal, right?

Wrong.

We are two innings into our game when my right fielder comes into the dugout and says, “Danielle, there are some boys saying stuff to us over the fence. Like, rude stuff…” I tell the ump to keep an eye on the scenario and should he hear anything to please intervene.

We go back out on defense. The punks who were saying ignorant crapola to my right fielder persist and the umpire speaks with them. They continue their bull crap act. Now the ump calls timeout and asks me to come onto the field. He quietly asks me to call the police and send a car down to the field because what these young men baffoons were saying was that inappropriate.

Within 5 minutes of my call to the 5-0, they roll up and the ignoramuses bail the scene. The police turn off the road and we carry on. But the minute that squad car is off the block, those little disrespectful craps came right back to their perch. But so did the police.

The game got called in the middle of the 4th. My right fielder had to make a statement to the police. I had to sit in the middle of the city and wait. Wait for every one of my girls to be in a car safely belted in and riding back to the sugar-coated, bubble-like place we are blessed to call home.

Now stand back this is about to get heated…

WHAT KIND OF WORLD DO WE LIVE IN THAT 15-16 YEAR OLD GIRLS CAN’T PLAY AN ORGANIZED GAME OF SOFTBALL? WHAT KIND OF IDIOTS ALLOW THEIR YOUNG TEENAGE SONS TO ROAM THE STREETS AT 10-11PM? WHY DO I FEEL THE NEED TO WATCH EVERY SINGLE GIRL ON MY ROSTER GET IN THEIR CAR AND DRIVE TOWARD HOME? WHY DO I HAVE TO CALL THE FLIPPING POLICE IN THE BOTTOM OF THE 3RD INNING, WHEN, IN REALITY, I SHOULD BE TALKING TO MY GIRLS ABOUT OUR HITTING APPROACH.

Seriously? Seriously. I am fired up. I am so disgusted that my right fielder, and all of the other girls, had to even be subjected to such idiotic and completely ridiculous behavior.

Before the girls left tonight, though, I did tell them this:

Listen. Tonight’s game was weird and quite frankly I do not even care to talk about the game itself. It is irrelevant. Tonight let’s talk about real life. You never, NEVER have to be spoken to the way that those boys were talking to you. And you never, NEVER should tolerate such disrespect and crude language to be directed toward you. And should you ever be subjected to such disgusting, spineless bull crap, you do exactly what [right fielder] did. You tell someone who can fix the situation.

I guess softball really does teach you everything you need to know about life…

3 Responses to “FIRED UP!!!”

  1. Cammy Pakela June 30, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    Danielle, I am so proud of you. You handled this situation like a pro and I loved your “Mom” talk with the girls. Some of them might never have been told they don’t have to put up with such goings on. Way to Go!!!

    Love you,
    Gram

  2. JoAnn July 3, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Let us know when you are back on that field….want to post some grandparents out there?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paranormal Activity? « hotpinknailpolish - June 24, 2012

    […] have known one another for several years. And she's appeared on this blog many-a-time…. here and here and here… and she is one of my very best friends of life. Recently, Becky's grandmother passed […]

Leave a Reply

